fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

André Bauchant

|||||||||||

(Château-Renault, 1873 – Montoir-sur-le-Loir, 1958)

André Bauchant spent his entire life in his native Touraine. He left school at the age of fourteen to work the land on the family farm. He later became a breeder, tree merchant and nurseryman, which gave him the nickname of “garden painter”.

During the war, he, who had never visited a museum or held a pencil or brush, was given the task of drawing up field surveys and panoramic sketches. This was the revelation of a talent he did not know he had: “I drew the horizons with the same ease as writing a letter.

Demobilised in 1919 at the age of 46, he found his wife deprived of her mind and his horticultural farm fallow. He then retired to the woods with his wife, whom he released from the asylum, and began to paint. These were ten difficult years during which Bauchant painted in the morning and cultivated a few acres of land in the afternoon. The result was paintings full of serenity and history, in which a sort of Eden on the banks of the Loire unfolds, populated by small colourful characters, mixing the grotesque and the sublime.

He exhibited at the Salon d’Automne in 1921, and was gradually supported by a circle of Parisian artists and personalities, including: Le Corbusier (who bought his first canvas in 1922), Ozenfant, Lipchitz, Serge Lifar, Jean Lurçat, Diaghiliev, and Jeanne Bucher, who organised his first solo exhibitions in 1927 and 1928, where Wilhelm Uhde met him and associated him with the “modern primitives”.

In 1928, Bauchant was commissioned to create the sets for the Apollon Musagète for Diaghiliev’s “Ballets Russes” with music by Stravinsky, an opera that was performed in June 1928 at the Sarah-Bernhardt Theatre.

This was the beginning of recognition and the end of the difficult years. Exhibitions multiplied throughout the world, and he was able to live from his painting. He then had a house built in Tourneboeuf and achieved happiness. In 1949, he even had a retrospective exhibition of 215 paintings at the Charpentier Gallery.

During the last years of his life, Bauchant painted mainly flowers and carried out a state commission, a tapestry cardboard woven at Gobelins. But plagued by illness, he fell victim to a cerebral congestion that left him debilitated in December 1956. He continued to paint until 30 September 1957, holding his right wrist with his left hand. He died less than a year later, on 12 August 1958.

André Bauchant is associated with the so-called “naive” painters, whom Wilhelm Uhde liked to call “painters of the sacred heart”. They are all painters who have returned to the sincerity, truth and inventiveness of the “imagiers” who had freely developed their expression until a court and then mass culture imposed itself.

He was a self-taught painter, who in his own way destroyed the prejudice of clumsiness, and challenged the pictorial tradition that had dominated since the Renaissance. As Dina Vierny, who devoted a great deal of her life to defending his work and that of the other naïfs, put it so well, “they are first and foremost artists in their own right who are reviving the great art of the Middle Ages, who prefer the realm of instinct to the world of knowledge”. Perpetuating the great tradition of French art, from Gothic art to Corot and Poussin, Bauchant fascinated his contemporaries because he brought to the art of his time a freshness forgotten by trained painters, going against the grain of modern art’s formalist history. As Le Corbusier said, “Bauchant, a painter-poet, because he has no aesthetic preoccupation, no scruples, and that naivety which allows him to dare everything, gets by wonderfully, with a craftsman’s skill that is too often lacking in artists of the intellectual classes. It is easy to understand why Wilhelm Uhde called these painters “modern primitives”.

Dina Vierny organised numerous exhibitions of Bauchant’s work at the gallery and eventually purchased his studio collection (at his request). In 1997 she published his catalogue raisonné.

Festival du village, 1948
Huile sur toile
50,2 cm x 64,8 cm

Fruits dans un paysage, 1943
Huile sur carton toilé
25,5 x 35,5 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/38/d668760594/htdocs/wp-includes/pomo/plural-forms.php on line 210

Warning: Parameter 2 to WPGlobus_Filters::filter__the_posts() expected to be a reference, value given in /homepages/38/d668760594/htdocs/wp-includes/class-wp-hook.php on line 286
BAUCHANT ANDRÉ - Galerie Dina Vierny
Retour liste Back to list

André Bauchant

|||||||||||

(Château-Renault, 1873 – Montoir-sur-le-Loir, 1958)

André Bauchant passa toute sa vie sur sa terre natale de la Touraine. Il quitte l’école à quatorze ans pour travailler la terre dans l’exploitation familiale. Il devient par la suite éleveur, marchand d’arbres et pépiniériste, ce qui lui donnera le surnom de « peintre jardinier ».

Pendant la guerre, lui qui n’avait jamais visité de musée, ni jamais tenu un crayon ou un pinceau, a pour mission d’élaborer des relevés de terrain et d’esquisser des croquis panoramiques. C’est pour lui la révélation d’un talent qu’il ignorait : « Je dessinais les horizons avec la même facilité pour moi que d’écrire une lettre ».

Démobilisé en 1919 à l’âge de 46 ans, il retrouve sa femme privée de la raison et son exploitation horticole en friche. Il se retire alors dans les bois avec son épouse qu’il fait sortir de l’asile et commence à peindre. Ce seront dix années difficiles où Bauchant peint le matin et cultive quelques arpents de terre l’après-midi. Naissent alors des toiles empruntes de sérénité et d’histoire où se déploit une sorte d’Eden des bords de Loire peuplé de petits personnages colorés, mêlant le grotesque et le sublime.

Il expose au Salon d’Automne de 1921, et est progressivement soutenu par un cercle d’artistes et de personnalités parisiennes, parmi lesquels : Le Corbusier (qui lui achète sa première toile en 1922), Ozenfant, Lipchitz, Serge Lifar, Jean Lurçat, Diaghiliev, et Jeanne Bucher qui lui organise ses premières expositions personnelles en 1927 et 1928, où Wilhelm Uhde le rencontre et l’associe aux « primitifs modernes ».

Bauchant se voit ensuite commander en 1928 les décors de l’Apollon Musagète pour les « Ballets Russes » de Diaghiliev sur une musique de Stravinski, opéra qui sera donné en juin 1928 au théâtre Sarah-Bernhardt.

C’est le début de la reconnaissance et la fin des années difficiles. Les expositions se multiplient à travers le monde, il peut vivre de sa peinture. Il se fait alors construire une maison à Tourneboeuf et accède au bonheur. Il se voit même organiser, en 1949, une rétrospective de 215 toiles à la galerie Charpentier.

Durant les dernières années de sa vie, Bauchant peint surtout des fleurs et réalise une commande de l’Etat, un carton de tapisserie tissée aux Gobelins. Mais harcelé par la maladie, il est victime d’une congestion cérébrale qui le laisse diminué en décembre 1956. Il continue cependant de peindre jusqu’au 30 septembre 1957, tenant son poignet droit avec la main gauche. Il décède moins d’un an plus tard, le 12 août 1958.

André Bauchant est associé aux peintres dit « naïfs », que Wilhelm Uhde aimait appeler « peintres du cœur sacré ». Ce sont tous des peintres qui ont renoué avec la sincérité, la vérité et les inventions des « imagiers » qui avaient librement développé leur expression jusqu’à ce que s’impose une culture de cour puis de masse.

C’est un peintre autodidacte, qui a, à sa manière, détruit le préjugé de la maladresse, et remis en question la tradition picturale qui dominait depuis la Renaissance. Comme l’a très bien dit Dina Vierny, qui a consacré une très grande part de sa vie à défendre son travail et celui des autres naïfs, « ce sont d’abord des artistes à part entière qui renouent avec le grand art, celui du Moyen-Âge, qui préfèrent le royaume de l’instinct à l’univers de la connaissance ». Perpétuant la grande tradition de l’art français, de l’art gothique à Corot en passant par Poussin, Bauchant fascina ses contemporains parce qu’il apporta à l’art de son temps une fraîcheur oubliée des peintres de formation, à contre-courant de l’histoire formaliste de l’art moderne. Comme le dit Le Corbusier, « Bauchant, peintre-poète, parce qu’il n’a aucune préoccupation esthétique, aucun scrupule, et cette naïveté qui laisse tout oser, s’en tire à merveille, avec une habileté d’artisan qui manque trop souvent aux artistes de classes intellectuelles ». On comprend alors bien pourquoi Wilhelm Uhde qualifia ces peintres de « primitifs modernes ».

Dina Vierny a organisé de nombreuses expositions de Bauchant à la galerie et finit par acheter son fond d’atelier (à sa demande). Elle a publié en 1997 son catalogue raisonné.

Festival du village, 1948
Huile sur toile
50,2 cm x 64,8 cm

Fruits dans un paysage, 1943
Huile sur carton toilé
25,5 x 35,5 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017