fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Erik Boulatov

|||||||||||

(Sverdlovsk – RUSSIE, 1933)

Erik Bulatov was born in Sverdlovsk (now Ekaterinburg), where his father had been posted,  in 1933. In 1936, his family moved to Moscow, where he grew up. Erik Boultatov’s parents were firm believers in communism, and his education was conducted according to the Soviet norms (he was engaged in the Pioneer and Komsomol movements). Fascinated by painting from an early age, in 1947 he attended the Moscow Secondary School of Art. He learned to paint in a peculiar context, where any painting that was foreign, hostile to the established regime or outside the scope of official aspirations was forbidden. Even the Impressionists were censored. This repression gradually led Boulatov to break with the Soviet system.

Following Stalin’s death in 1953, a certain thaw took place. Boulatov established himself as the best pupil of his school. He was therefore granted the Lenin scholarship to join the Sourikov Institute and was allowed to travel to India. A bright official career lay ahead of him. Nevertheless, he decided to take the lead in the revolution against the Institute’s education in order to change its academic program. He believed that “true creation and official art had become irreconcilable” and that “in Russia (his) enemy was ideology as ideology was the enemy of art”. He then met professors expelled from the Institute who taught him an alternative vision of painting, as well as artists who shared the same values as his – like Ilya Kabakov. To live up to his artistic ideology, he worked on illustration for more than thirty years in order to earn a living and to paint in secret. In 1957, he discovered Pop Art at the World Festival of Youth and Students in Moscow which exerted a predominant influence on art in the Soviet Union.

His work was presented for the first time on the other side of the Wall in 1973, at the Dina Vierny gallery, during the Russian avant-garde – Moscow 73 exhibition.

In Boulatov’s paintings, an almost photographic vision of the world is confronted with linguistic representation. This confrontation is the result of a long reflection on abstraction, light and semiology. Each painting is the fruit of a process emerging from a ceaseless exploration of the pictorial space and a continual questioning of the representation of social space.

Starting from a structural search, in the spirit of Malevich, Boulatov then shifted to an objective vision of reality where the letter was to take in hand the abstract force of language. Photography became the necessary instrument with which to capture a subjective perception.

Eric Boulatov
Autoportrait (Pas d’entrée), 1973
Huile sur toile
110 x 110 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Erik Boulatov

|||||||||||

(Sverdlovsk – RUSSIE, 1933)

Erik Boulatov naît en 1933 à Sverdlovsk (Russie) où son père était en mission, mais retourne dès 1936 à Moscou. Ses parents sont des communistes convaincus et son éducation se fait selon les normes soviétiques (pionnier puis komsomol). Passionné très jeune par la peinture, il entre en 1947 à l’Ecole des jeunes artistes et apprend la peinture dans un contexte particulier, où toute peinture étrangère, hostile au régime ou en dehors des aspirations officielles est interdite. Même les Impressionnistes sont dissimulés. Cet étouffement pousse peu à peu Boulatov à rompre avec le système soviétique.

Après la mort de Staline, en 1953, s’opère un certain dégel. Boulatov s’impose comme le meilleur élève de son école. C’est ainsi qu’il obtient la bourse Lénine pour rentrer à l’Institut Sourikov et qu’il est autorisé à voyager en Inde : on lui prépare une carrière officielle brillante. Mais il prend la tête de la révolte contre l’enseignement de l’Institut pour changer le programme académique, car « la vraie création et l’art officiel étaient devenus irréconciliables » et « en Russie, (son) ennemi était l’idéologie car elle était l’ennemi de l’art ». Il rencontre alors des professeurs renvoyés de l’Institut qui lui enseignent une autre vision de la peinture, ainsi que des artistes partageant ses idées, comme Ilya Kabakov. Pour ne pas trahir son idéologie artistique, il fait des illustrations pendant plus de trente ans, ce qui lui permet de survivre et de peindre en secret. Sa peinture est d’ailleurs influencée par le Pop art qu’il découvre en 1957 au Festival de la jeunesse à Moscou, manifestation qui marquera durablement en Union Soviétique.

Son travail est présenté pour la première fois de l’autre côté du mur en 1973 à la Galerie Dina Vierny lors de l’exposition « Avant-Garde Russe – Moscou 73 ».

Dans la peinture de Boulatov s’oppose apparemment une vision quasi photographique du monde et la représentation du langage, car elle est l’aboutissement d’une longue réflexion sur l’abstraction, la lumière et la sémiologie. Chaque tableau est le fruit d’un processus trouvant son origine dans une quête incessante de l’espace pictural et une interrogation sur la représentation de l’espace social.

Parti d’une recherche de structure dans l’esprit de Malevitch, Boulatov se déplaça ensuite vers une vision objective de la réalité où la lettre allait prendre en charge la force abstraite du langage. La photographie devint l’instrument indispensable pour capter objectivement une perception subjective.

Eric Boulatov
Autoportrait (Pas d’entrée), 1973
Huile sur toile
110 x 110 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017