fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Jacques Doucet

|||||||||||

(Boulogne-Billancourt, 1924 – Paris, 1994)

Following a distressing childhood, Jacques Doucet became a revolutionary child, eager for freedom, passionate about painting and poetry. In 1941, he travelled to Saint-Benoît-sur-Loire to meet Max Jacob, who strongly encouraged him to follow the path of artistic creation. Doucet then embarked on a painting career and exhibited at the Autumn Salon in 1943 and 1944. Politically engaged, he was arrested during the military occupation of France. After the liberation of Paris, Doucet resumed his work and exhibited at the “Salon des Surindépendants” in 1946 and 1947.

During the year 1947, Jacques Doucet was invited together with the Dutch painter Corneille to Budapest, where he exhibited and met with the Europaï Iskola painters. Back in Paris, he joined the Revolutionary Surrealism Group and the CoBrA mouvement, an « international of experimental artists » whose short lifespan lasted from 1948 to 1951. Experimentation and spontaneity were at the core of these artists’ approach which derived its  inspiration from childrens’ paintings, graffiti and folk or tribal art. Doucet participated in all the CoBrA exhibitions from the first experimental art show in the Stedelijk Museum of Amsterdam in 1949, to the ultimate exhibition in Liège in 1951.

After the CoBrA adventure, Doucet moved away from figuration and composed small paintings with vigorous, sweeping brushstrokes in contrasting colors. The painter experienced his  contact with matter as a necessity, a spiritual quest as well as a sensual pleasure. Not long after, the use of collage enabled him to “renew his vision”. He combined fragments of works, childrens’ drawings, and magazines, pursuing a vivid thirst for experimentation that led him in 1969/70 to the conception of “petrifications” assembling objects and fragments to be set in resin.

Until the end of his life, in 1994, the shapes of Doucet’s paintings continued to develop, as did the images of lyricism and spirituality that enamate from them. Doucet was engaged in an intimate struggle with his paintings and was constantly  retouching them. As the painter would say, “it is when I destroy the painting that it finds its breath and true life”.

 

Sans titre, 1955
Huile sur toile
65 x 81 cm

Sans titre, 1955
Huile sur toile
50 x 100 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Jacques Doucet

|||||||||||

(Boulogne-Billancourt, 1924 – Paris, 1994)

Suite à une enfance douloureuse, Jacques Doucet devient un enfant révolté, épris de liberté, passionné de peinture et de poésie. En 1941, il se rend à Saint-Benoît-sur-Loire à la rencontre de Max Jacob, qui l’encourage sur la voie de la création artistique. Doucet commence alors sa carrière de peintre et expose au Salon d’Automne en 1943 et 1944. Engagé politiquement pendant l’Occupation, il est arrêté. A la Libération, il reprend ses activités et expose au Salon des Surindépendants en 1946 et 1947.

En 1947, il est invité avec le peintre hollandais Corneille à Budapest, où il expose et rencontre les peintres de l’Europaï Iskola. De retour à Paris, il adhère au Groupe surréaliste révolutionnaire puis au mouvement CoBrA, une « internationale des artistes expérimentaux » dont la courte existence s’inscrit entre 1948 et 1951. L’expérimentation, la spontanéité sont au cœur de la démarche des artistes qui puisent leur inspiration dans les dessins d’enfants, les graffitis, l’art populaire ou primitif. Doucet sera présent à toutes les expositions CoBrA, de la première exposition d’Art expérimental au Stedelijk Museum d’Amsterdam en 1949 à l’ultime exposition de Liège en 1951.

Après l’aventure CoBrA, Doucet se détache de la figuration et compose de petits formats à la touche large et brusque, aux couleurs contrastées. Le peintre ressent le contact avec la matière comme une nécessité, à la fois quête spirituelle et plaisir sensuel. Un peu plus tard, la pratique du collage lui permet de « renouveler sa vision ». Il y mêle des fragments d’œuvres, de dessins d’enfants, de magazines, suivant une soif d’expérimentation qui le conduit à l’invention en 1969/70 des « pétrifications », assemblages d’objets et de fragments figés dans de la résine.

Jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, en 1994, les formats de ses tableaux vont en grandissant, comme le lyrisme et la spiritualité qui en émanent. Doucet se livrait à un combat intime avec la peinture, qu’il retouchait sans cesse. « C’est lorsque je détruis le tableau qu’il trouve sa respiration et sa vie » disait le peintre.

Sans titre, 1955
Huile sur toile
65 x 81 cm

Sans titre, 1955
Huile sur toile
50 x 100 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017