fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Emile GILIOLI

|||||||||||

(Paris, 1911 – Paris, 1977)

Born in Paris into a family of Italian shoemakers, Emile Gilioli was a leading figure in post-war abstract sculpture. He spent his childhood in Italy where he learned the art of blacksmithing before joining his father in Nice to train as a sculptor. In 1931 he entered the Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Paris.

Mobilised in 1939, he left to settle in Grenoble where he was strongly influenced by his various encounters which pushed him to break with academicism and move towards a simplification of forms. This break was confirmed when he returned to Paris in 1945. He then moved towards a non-figurative art alongside Vasarely, Brancusi, Deyrolle and Poliakoff. He participated in numerous artistic events in the Denise René, Louis Carré and Dina Vierny galleries, as well as in the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles and the Salon de Mai. He was also a founding member of the Salon de la Jeune Sculpture and vice-president of the Espace group with André Bloc, Fernand Léger and Le Corbusier.

Emile Gilioli was commissioned for numerous public works, including the National Monument to the Resistance on the Plateau des Glières (1973). His work focuses on the construction of pure lines through various materials such as bronze, granite, marble or steel. He also creates numerous collages, reliefs, tapestries, engravings, paintings, drawings, stained glass and mosaics. His sculptures rise in space like real architectures and express a strong spatial dynamic through their sober and pure silhouette, which is also found in his graphic work.

“Marked by spiritualist and purist tendencies of abstract art, […], Gilioli will nevertheless oscillate in his work between the rigour of the sign and the serene sensuality of forms where angle and curve marry.” Michel Ragon

L’aube, 1970
Atelier d’Angers
128 x 149 cm
N°1/5

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Retour liste Back to list

Emile GILIOLI

|||||||||||

(Paris, 1911 – Paris, 1977)

Né à Paris dans une famille de cordonniers d’origine italienne, Emile Gilioli est une figure marquante de la sculpture abstraite de l’après-guerre. Il passe son enfance en Italie où il apprend l’art de la forge avant de rejoindre son père à Nice pour se former à la sculpture. Il entre en 1931 à l’Ecole nationale des Beaux-Arts de Paris.

Mobilisé en 1939, il part s’installer à Grenoble où il est fortement marqué par ses différentes rencontres qui le poussent à rompre avec l’académisme pour se diriger vers une simplification des formes. Cette rupture se confirme lors de son retour à Paris en 1945. Il évolue alors vers un art non figuratif aux côtés de Vasarely, Brancusi, Deyrolle et Poliakoff. Il participe à de nombreuses manifestations artistiques dans les galeries Denise René, Louis Carré et Dina Vierny, ainsi qu’au Salon des Réalités Nouvelles et au Salon de Mai. Il est par ailleurs membre fondateur du Salon de la Jeune Sculpture et vice-président du groupe Espace avec André Bloc, Fernand Léger et Le Corbusier.

Emile Gilioli est sollicité pour de nombreuses commandes publiques, dont le Monument national de la Résistance sur le Plateau des Glières (1973). Son travail se concentre sur la construction de lignes pures à travers divers matériaux tels le bronze, le granit, le marbre ou l’acier. Il réalise également de nombreux collages, reliefs, tapisseries, gravures, peintures, dessins, vitraux et mosaïques. Ses sculptures s’élèvent dans l’espace comme de véritables architectures et expriment une forte dynamique spatiale de par leur silhouette sobre et pure, qu’on retrouve aussi dans son travail graphique.

« Marqué par des tendances spiritualistes et puristes de l’art abstrait, […], Gilioli oscillera néanmoins dans son œuvre entre la rigueur du signe et la sensualité sereine des formes où l’angle et la courbe s’épousent. » Michel Ragon

L’aube, 1970
Atelier d’Angers
128 x 149 cm
N°1/5

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017