fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Aristide Maillol

|||||||||||

(Banyuls-sur-Mer, 1861 – Banyuls-sur-Mer, 1944)

Aristide Maillol was one of the most famous sculptors of his day. His work, based on ample forms developed from the female nude but simplified to the  extreme of  a pure outline, is silent and represents a true artistic revolution that would lead to the emergence of abstraction. Maillol’s artistic creation represents a turning point between the 19th and 20th century and influenced a significant number of artists including Henry Moore, Arp or Laurens but also found echoes in the work of Picasso, Brancusi and Matisse. Maillol’s work was praised by many great writers such as Octave Mirbeau and André Gide as well as stimulating publications by eminent art critics including Waldemar George and John Rewald.

Maillol began his career with painting and became interested very early on in decorative arts such as ceramics and tapestry. But it was only at the age of forty that he decided to devote himself to sculpture. Born in the Pyrénées-Orientales in 1861, Maillol remained loyal to his Mediterranean origins all his life.

After his studies in Perpignan, he moved to Paris in 1882. His first years there were difficult. He discovered the tapestries of The Lady and the Unicorn at the museum of Cluny in Paris and decided to open his own weaving workshop in Banuyls. His paintings were initially greatly influenced by his contemporaries including Pierre Puvis de Chavannes. In Paris, he joined the Nabis group where he rubbed shoulders with Bonnard, Vuillard and Maurice Denis. His meeting with Gauguin in 1892 was decisive.

The year 1900 marked a turning point in Maillol’s work. During this year, he invented a genuine repertoire of shapes, anticipating his works to come. His first wooden sculptures as well as his models made of raw earth or clay, such as Venus or the Baigneuses Debout, Accroupies, se Coiffant evoked ancient Greek sculptures. The perfection of Leda’s forms impressed Rodin as well as Mirbeau who acquired it in 1902 from a highly successful exhibition at the Vollard gallery.

When Maillol exhibited the plaster of the Mediterranée at the Salon d’Automne of 1905, with the Fauve painters, the show was a triumph. The monumental sculpture represents a seated woman, absorbed in her own thoughts, whose elbow resting on her knee and head supported by her hand form a geometric composition. André Gide described the sculpture saying: “she is beautiful, she does not mean anything, it is a silent work”. This medidative figure, where no individual expression detracts from  the overall vision, is a major work, whose smooth architectural structure is symbolic of Maillol’s research.

After the death in 1917 of Rodin, whose sculptural style was always said to be the opposite  of  Maillol’s, Maillol became the greatest living French sculptor. In the 1930s Maillol represented the renewal of sculpture and produced the Monument à Debussy, with its exquisite soft curves. In 1934, while looking for new forms of inspiration, Maillol met Dina Vierny. This young girl incarnated his ideal in sculpture and became his main model for ten years. She became his muse, his interlocutor and his collaborator. It was she who inspired  his late monumental sculptures such as La Montagne, in 1937, that completed a cycle previously started at the beginning of the century, or L’Air, in 1938, a memorial to the Aéropostale aviators, as well as La Rivière, representing a female body tilted backwards who struggles to resist the flowing water that is dragging her relentlessly away and whose face reveals some form of fear. La Rivière was the first sculpture ever representing a person lying on her back, in an unstable equilibrium. This position can be perceived as an allegory of the troubled times that were to come in the Second World War during which Maillol went back to Banyuls-sur-Mer.

After being given two retrospectives in New York and in Basel in 1933, Maillol won international recognition during the universal exhibition of 1937 in Paris where several rooms were dedicated to his work. Maillol began working on Harmonie, his final sculpture, in 1940. With this unfinished sculpture, Maillol reached the pinnacle of his career. The female silhouette, slightly lopsided, reminds us of medieval sculpture and symbolises a synthesis of all his formal research. But contrary to his previous works, it is also a portrait.

Maillol died in 1944 following a car accident, close to his home town, leaving behind him a considerable body of work that we can admire in Paris, in the provinces and abroad. In the Tuileries garden, eighteen sculptures, offered in 1964 by Dina Vierny under the auspices of André Malraux, are exhibited. In 1995, Dina Vierny created a museum in Paris dedicated to his work, the Maillol museum, inaugurated in 1995 by François Mitterand.

By using a synthetic vision, based on the arrangement of masses that marked a radical break from the descriptive art of the 19th century, Maillol paved the way for abstract sculpture, as Cezanne did for painting. From the outset Maillol attempted to capture immobility in sculpture and achieved perfection in the proportions of his statues whether small or monumental. The eternal beauty of Maillol’s work, in the tradition of Jean Goujon or Edmé Bouchardon, reminds us of the figures around the pools, fountains and gardens of Versailles, and establishes Maillol as one of the greatest French artists.

 

Jeune fille allongée, circa 1925
Fusain et estompe sur papier
51 x 77 cm

Léda, 1912
Biscuit édité à la Manufacture de Sèvres en 2015
Hauteur : 25,5 cm
Edition de 12 exemplaires

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Retour liste Back to list

Aristide Maillol

|||||||||||

(Banyuls-sur-Mer, 1861 – Banyuls-sur-Mer, 1944)

Aristide Maillol fut l’un des sculpteurs les plus célèbres de son temps. Son œuvre, silencieuse, fondée sur des formes pleines, élaborées à partir de l’étude du nu féminin et simplifiées jusqu’à l’épure, représente une véritable révolution artistique, anticipant l’abstraction. Sa création a marqué le tournant entre le XIXe et le XXe siècles, inspiré nombre de grands artistes, dont Henry Moore, Arp ou Laurens et trouvé une résonance chez Picasso, Brancusi et Matisse. L’œuvre de Maillol a suscité les éloges de grands écrivains, tels Octave Mirbeau et André Gide, ou encore les ouvrages d’éminents critiques d’art, tels Waldemar George et John Rewald.

Maillol a débuté sa carrière dans la peinture et s’est intéressé très tôt aux arts décoratifs : céramique et tapisserie, avant de se consacrer à la sculpture, vers l’âge de quarante ans. Né dans les Pyrénées-Orientales en 1861, il est resté toute sa vie fidèle à ses origines méditerranéennes.

Après des études à Perpignan, il se rend à Paris en 1882 où il vit des années difficiles. Il découvre notamment les tapisseries de La Dame à la licorne au musée de Cluny, et décide d’ouvrir un atelier de tissage à Banyuls. Sa peinture est-elle influencée par ses contemporains, il admire Pierre Puvis de Chavannes, il appartient au groupe des nabis, où il côtoie Bonnard, Vuillard et Maurice Denis, et sa rencontre avec Paul Gauguin, en 1892, est décisive.

L’année 1900 est un tournant dans l’œuvre de Maillol, qui invente un véritable répertoire de formes, préfigurant son œuvre à venir. Ses premières sculptures en bois, puis ses modelages en terre crue ou en argile, Vénus ou baigneuses debout, accroupies, se coiffant, évoquent la statuaire grecque archaïque. La perfection des formes de Léda impressionne Rodin et Mirbeau, ce dernier en fait l’acquisition en 1902, lors de l’exposition à la galerie Vollard à Paris, qui rencontre un grand succès.

Ensuite, lorsque Maillol expose le plâtre de Méditerranée au Salon d’automne de 1905, parmi les peintres fauves, c’est un triomphe. La sculpture, monumentale, représente une femme assise, absorbée dans ses pensées, dont le coude appuyé sur son genou et la tête reposant sur sa main ferment une composition géométrique. André Gide la décrit ainsi : « Elle est belle, elle ne signifie rien, c’est une œuvre silencieuse ». Figure méditative, dont toute expression est absente au profit d’une vision d’ensemble, cette œuvre majeure, lisse, structurée comme une architecture, est emblématique des recherches de Maillol.

Après la mort de Rodin en 1917, auquel on l’a toujours opposé en termes de style, Maillol est considéré comme le plus grand sculpteur français vivant. Ainsi, dans les années 1930, au fait de sa célébrité, Maillol incarne un renouveau de la sculpture et réalise le Monument à Debussy, aux courbes d’une exquise douceur. Dans cette période où il cherche une inspiration nouvelle, il fait la connaissance en 1934 de Dina Vierny, jeune fille qui incarne son idéal en sculpture et qui devient son principal modèle pendant dix ans. À la fois muse, interlocutrice et collaboratrice, elle lui inspire ses dernières sculptures monumentales : La Montagne, en 1937, qui achève le cycle entamé au début du siècle, L’Air, en 1938, monument à la mémoire des aviateurs de l’Aéropostale, puis La Rivière, corps féminin renversé en arrière, qui s’efforce de résister au courant qui l’entraîne inexorablement, et dont le visage exprime l’effroi. C’est la première représentation en sculpture d’une figure sur le dos, en équilibre instable, sorte d’allégorie des temps troublés qui s’annoncent avec la Seconde Guerre mondiale, pendant laquelle Maillol se retire à Banyuls-sur-Mer.

Après deux rétrospectives en 1933, à New York et à Bâle, Maillol voit la consécration de son œuvre lors de l’exposition universelle de 1937 à Paris, où plusieurs salles lui sont dédiées. Il commence sa dernière œuvre en 1940, Harmonie, inachevée, où il atteint le sommet de son art. La silhouette féminine légèrement déhanchée évoque la sculpture médiévale, elle fait la synthèse de toutes ses recherches formelles mais, contrairement aux œuvres précédentes, c’est également un portrait.

L’artiste meurt en 1944 des suites d’un accident de voiture, près de son village natal. Il laisse une œuvre considérable que l’on peut admirer à Paris, en province et à l’étranger. Dans les jardins des Tuileries sont exposées les dix-huit sculptures offertes sous l’égide d’André Malraux, en 1964, par Dina Vierny, qui a créé rue de Grenelle un musée consacré à l’artiste, inauguré en 1995 par François Mitterrand.

Par sa vision synthétique, axée sur l’arrangement des masses et la rupture radicale avec l’art descriptif du XIXe siècle, Maillol, dans son domaine, a ouvert la voie vers l’abstraction, comme Cézanne en peinture. D’emblée Maillol pense à une sculpture de l’immobile et atteint une perfection des proportions, tant pour les statues de petit format que pour celles aux dimensions monumentales. La beauté éternelle de son œuvre, qui s’inscrit dans la lignée de Jean Goujon ou d’Edme Bouchardon et rappelle les figures ornant les bassins, les fontaines et les jardins du château de Versailles, en fait un des plus grands artistes français.

Jeune fille allongée, circa 1925
Fusain et estompe sur papier
51 x 77 cm

Léda, 1912
Biscuit édité à la Manufacture de Sèvres en 2015
Hauteur : 25,5 cm
Edition de 12 exemplaires

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017