fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Jules PASCIN

|||||||||||

(Vidin – BULGARIE, 1885 – Paris, 1930)

Jules Pascin, real name Juluis Mordecai Pincas, was the son of a wealthy merchant of Vidin, Bulgaria. Following his stormy relationship with a brothel madam, his father forced him to change his name. He thus decided to be addressed as Julius Pascin.

He was educated at the Art schools of Budapest and Vienna. During his early career as an artist, he collaborated with a German satirical magazine where his erotic drawings and caricatures gave him a certain notoriety. Around that time, he met the artists who were to found the German Expressionist movement, with whom he managed to find his own orientation and graphical style, marked by a strong critique of society. A major part of his work did moreover continue to  be marked by the latter sensibility and satiric force.

Following a series of travels that led him to Vienna, Munich and Berlin, Pascin finally decided to try his chance in Paris in 1905. There, he formed strong friendships with front-line French artists from the neighburhoods of Montmartre or Montparnasse, including Foujita, Kisling, Soutine, Van Dongen, Derain, Diego Rivera, as well as Matisse and the Fauvists.

His subjects of choice focus on the scenes of daily life and more especially on the female body and erotic compositions. He asked: “Why is a woman considered less obscene from the back than from the front? Why are breasts, navels and pubis nowadays still considered as indecent, where does this censorship and hypocrisy come from? From religion?”

Jules Pascin is part of the School of Paris, which was André Warnod’s expression to designate the group of artists, including many foreigners, that arrived in Paris in the 1920s to find more suitable conditions for the expression of their art, while at the same time remaining outside the pictorial movements of pre-war years.

It is incidentally these avant-gardes – who blew figuration and representation in painting to pieces – that led Pascin, just like Modigliani, to question the meaning of his own figurative work. Doubts submerged him. He suffered from his loss of reputation, and felt he was losing the meaning, sensibility and power that he always aimed to give to his paintings.

He thus foundered and gradually lost himself in escapism, parties and alcohol. His last letter, written to his partner Lucy, said: “I am a pimp, I am tired of being a pander of painting… I have no more ambition, nor artistic pride, I do not care about money, I have wasted too much time noting the uselessness of everything in too much detail.” He eventually killed himself on the 2nd of June 1930, at the age of forty-five.

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Jules PASCIN

|||||||||||

(Vidin – BULGARIE, 1885 – Paris, 1930)

Jules Pascin, de son vrai nom Julius Mordecai Pincas, est le fils d’un riche marchand de la ville de Vidin, en Bulgarie. Suite à ses relations tumultueuses avec une tenancière de maison close, son père exige qu’il change de nom. C’est ainsi qu’il décide de se faire appeler Julius Pascin.

Il se forme aux écoles d’Art de Budapest et de Vienne, et collabore avec une revue satirique allemande où ses dessins érotiques et ses caricatures lui valent une certaine notoriété. Il rencontre à la même période les artistes qui donneront naissance à l’expressionnisme allemand, et avec lesquels il parvient à trouver sa ligne et son style graphique, chargé d’une forte critique de la société de l’époque. Une grande partie de son œuvre restera d’ailleurs marquée par cette sensibilité et une force satirique.

Après des séjours qui le conduisent à Vienne, Munich et Berlin, Pascin décide de venir tenter sa chance à Paris en 1905. Là, il se noue d’amitié avec les artistes de l’avant-scène française dans les quartiers de Montmartre ou Montparnasse. Il y rencontre Foujita, Kisling, Soutine, Van Dongen, Derain, Diego Rivera, ainsi que Matisse et les fauves.

Ses sujets favoris se concentrent autour des scènes de la vie quotidienne, et plus particulièrement autour du corps de la femme et des compositions érotiques. Il dit : « Pourquoi une femme est-elle considérée comme moins obscène de dos que de face ? Pourquoi une paire de seins, un nombril, un pubis sont-ils de nos jours encore considérés comme impudiques, d’où vient cette censure, cette hypocrisie ? De la religion ? »

Jules Pascin est assimilé à « l’Ecole de Paris », selon l’expression du critique André Warnod qui  désigne l’ensemble des artistes étrangers arrivés avant les années 1920 à Paris  dans l’espoir de trouver des conditions plus favorables à l’expression de leur art, mais restés en marge des courants picturaux d’avant-guerre.

C’est d’ailleurs ces avant-gardes – qui font exploser la figuration et la représentation dans la peinture – qui amènent Pascin, de la même manière que Modigliani, à s’interroger sur la signification de son œuvre figurative. Les doutes l’assaillent. Il souffre de ne plus être reconnu, et croit perdre le sens, la sensibilité et la puissance qu’il a toujours voulu donner à sa propre peinture.

Il sombre alors et se perd peu à peu dans la fuite, les fêtes et l’alcoolisme. Sa dernière lettre, écrite à sa compagne Lucy, dit : « Je suis un maquereau, j’en ai marre d’être un proxénète de la peinture… Je n’ai plus aucune ambition, aucun orgueil d’artiste, je me fous de l’argent, j’ai trop mesuré l’inutilité de tout.  » Il se suicide finalement le 2 juin 1930, à l’âge de quarante-cinq ans.

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017