fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Serge Poliakoff

|||||||||||

(Moscow, 1900 – Paris, 1969)

Serge Poliakoff was born at the beginning of the year 1900 in Moscow. He was the thirteenth child of a family of fourteen children. His father supplied horses for the Russian army and owned a racing stable.

In 1914 he began taking art classes and spent most of his childhood surrounded by religious figures that he saw in the church with his mother, as well as the active culture and literary salons of the Russian aristocracy of that period.

In 1918, to earn a living, he departed for Europe to play guitar for his aunt (a famous singer). In 1923 he finally arrived in Paris and began a long artistic development that lasted for twenty years.

In 1937 he met the Delaunays, whose artistic philosophy inspired his own artistic style. Two years later, he presented his first piece in Paris and was discovered by Kandinsky who stated: “for the future I bet on Poliakoff”. He then participated in several salons and by 1945 finally saw himself exhibiting several of his first abstract compositions. In 1947, he received the Kandinsky prize.

In the meantime, to sustain a living, Poliakoff composed a successful series of textile designs, but then stopped out of fear that this shift of style would affect his paintings and decided instead to play his guitar in Russian night clubs.

On several occasions, he then exhibited at the Denise René gallery and, starting from 1951, at the Dina Vierny gallery, after a fortuitous encounter in a Russian cabaret where Dina Vierny was replacing a singer.

Following this, in the 1950s and 1960s, Poliakoff was finally able to benefit from his success as an established artist with numerous exhibitions and prizes, as well as with his participation in the Biennale of Venice in 1962. He died in 1969, just before his major retrospective at the Modern Art Museum in Paris.

Poliakoff is considered as one of the great abstract masters of the School of Paris. Deeply influenced by Russian icons, he constantly tried in his work to retranslate that same emotion. This iconic side of his work can be observed in the admiration that he felt for Malévitch’s Carré noir sur fond blanc, which had a major impact on his work.

Poliakoff intends to express an existential presence in his work. Like most of the American artists of his generation (Rothko, Gottlieb, Newmann) he is in search of a pre-figurative spiritual primitivism. This can be seen in the harmonious balance of the shapes that punctuate his compositions whose entire soul relies on the vibrations and the intense color that leap out of the paintings. Serge Poliakoff did not look for novelty but rather for eternity by turning his work into truly divine images, icons of modern art.

1955
Huile sur toile
100 x 81 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Retour liste Back to list

Serge Poliakoff

|||||||||||

(Moscou, 1900 – Paris, 1969)

Serge Poliakoff naît au début de l’année 1900 à Moscou. Il est le treizième né d’une fratrie de quatorze enfants. Son père est fournisseur de chevaux pour l’armée russe et possède une écurie de course.

Il commence en 1914 à suivre des cours de dessin, et partage son enfance entre les icônes religieuses qu’il voit dans les églises avec sa mère et l’animation de la vie culturelle et des salons littéraires de l’aristocratie russe.

En 1918, commence son exode à travers l’Europe où il accompagne à la guitare sa tante, célèbre chanteuse, pour gagner sa vie. Il arrive finalement en 1923 à Paris et commence alors sa longue formation qui durera vingt ans.

En 1937, il se rapproche des Delaunay dont les propos théoriques l’aident beaucoup à évoluer. Il expose deux ans plus tard sa première toile abstraite à Paris, et remarqué par Kandinsky, ce dernier aurait déclaré : « Pour l’avenir je mise sur Poliakoff ». Il participe alors à plusieurs salons et se voit organiser, en 1945, sa première exposition de toiles abstraites. Il obtient ensuite le prix Kandinsky en 1947.

Parallèlement, pour subvenir à ses besoins, Poliakoff réalise des dessins de tissu à succès, mais cesse cette activité par crainte que son œuvre de peintre en souffre, et préfère jouer de la guitare dans les cabarets russes la nuit.

Il est ensuite exposé à diverses reprises à la Galerie Denise René, puis à partir de 1951, à la Galerie Dina Vierny, après leur rencontre fortuite dans un cabaret russe où Dina Vierny remplaçait une chanteuse malade.

L’artiste peut, par la suite, enfin jouir de son succès dans les années 50 et 60 avec de nombreuses expositions et prix, ainsi qu’avec sa participation à la Biennale de Venise de 1962. Il décède en 1969, juste avant sa grande rétrospective au Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris.

Poliakoff est considéré comme un grand maître abstrait de l’Ecole de Paris. Profondément marqué par les icônes russes, il tente dans sa peinture d’en retranscrire la même émotion. Ce côté iconique se retrouve dans l’admiration qu’il porte au Carré  blanc sur fond blanc de Malevitch qui eut un impact capital sur son travail.

Poliakoff cherche à exprimer la présence d’une existence dans son travail, il est à la recherche d’un primitivisme spirituel préfiguratif, comme les artistes américains de sa génération (Rothko, Gottlieb, Newmann). Et cela s’exprime dans l’équilibre des formes qui s’opère dans ses compositions, et dont toute l’âme repose sur la vibration et l’intensité colorée qui en émane. Serge Poliakoff n’a pas cherché la nouveauté dans sa peinture, mais l’éternité, faisant de ses tableaux de véritables images divines, des icônes de l’art moderne.

1955
Huile sur toile
100 x 81 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017