fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Oscar Rabine

|||||||||||

(Moscow, 1928 – Florence, 2018)

Born in Moscow, Oscar Rabin learnt to paint under Evgueni Kropivnitski. In the 1950s, he moved with his wife to the suburbs of Moscow and earned a living subsequently as a railway supervisor, worker and advertising designer. He decided to fully commit to painting in 1958 following the birth of the Lianosovo Group.

As a true leading figure of the  artists committed to the freedom of expression, Oscar Rabin belongs to the great non-conformist movement of the 60s and 70s. As a defender of non-official art, in 1974, he organized the well-known open air exhibition “bulldozer” in Moscow. This attempt to present art without any censorship was swept away by the authorities. The works exhibited  were seized and Oscar Rabin was later stripped of his nationality in 1978.

Expelled, Oscar Rabin moved to Paris with his family. He there became a free artist, independent of any political movement, and came to acquire an international reputation.

The Russian Ambassador to France eventually returned his passport in 2006. A year later, he was granted the Innovation prize at the Pushkin Museum in Moscow. Thereafter, Oscar Rabin was appointed to the Order of the Academy of Fine Art of Russia.

Rabin’s art is a powerful testimonial to his own life, divided between Russia and France. His paintings bear the imprint of his passion in the generous use of materials in his landscapes, still lifes, portraits and other themes. He was greatly inspired by his everyday life, taking objects to transform them into symbols so as to offer a reflection on the meaning of life. Through the use of drawing, oils, collages and cutouts, his paintings are located between realism and expressionism. Using black outlines and subtle monochrome tints in his unstable compositions, he depicts heterogeneous objects such as his passport, bottles of vodka, bottles of champagne, cigarette ends and herrings, among other things.

In my painting, I feel pleasure in the process itself, by mixing and applying colors and by enjoying their brightness and darkness, their broad, subtle brushstrokes as well as their smell. Then I wish to express sadness, happiness, hate, anger, love and all the thoughts of life. I want to capture the meaning of life and express it using my own feeloings. To achieve this, for symbols, I use ordinary objects around me. Their meaning in painting is different from their meaning in real life.”. Oscar Rabin

Visa ordinaire, 1997
Technique mixte sur papier
37,5 x 54,9 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Retour liste Back to list

Oscar Rabine

|||||||||||

(Moscou, 1928 – Florence, 2018)

Né à Moscou, Oscar Rabine apprend le métier de peinture aux côtés d’Evgueni Kropivnitski. Il s’installe dans les années 1950 avec sa femme dans la banlieue de Moscou et gagne sa vie en tant que contremaître aux chemins de fer, ouvrier puis dessinateur publicitaire. Il se consacre entièrement à la peinture à partir de 1958 lors de la création du Groupe de Lianosovo.

Véritable figure de proue des artistes engagés pour la liberté d’expression, Oscar Rabine appartient au grand mouvement non-conformiste des années 1960/1970. Grand défenseur de l’art non officiel, il organise en 1974 la célèbre exposition « bulldozer » en plein air à Moscou. Cette tentative d’exposition d’œuvres sans censure est balayée par les autorités, les œuvres sont confisquées et Oscar Rabine est par la suite déchu de sa nationalité en 1978.

Expulsé, Oscar Rabine s’installe à Paris avec sa famille, où il devient un artiste libre, indépendant des mouvements politiques, où il acquiert une reconnaissance mondiale.

L’Ambassadeur de Russie en France lui restitue finalement son passeport en 2006, il reçoit le prix de l’Innovation à Moscou et expose au Musée Pouchkine en 2007. Par la suite, Oscar Rabine, véritable icône, est décoré de l’Ordre de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Russie.

Son art est un puissant témoignage de sa vie partagée entre la Russie et la France. Ses peintures montrent une empreinte passionnée parsemée de matières généreuses à travers des paysages, des natures mortes, des portraits, et d’autres thèmes. Il s’inspire de son quotidien, prend des objets pour les transformer en symboles afin d’ouvrir une réflexion sur le sens de l’existence. Dessins, huiles, collages, découpages, sa peinture se situe entre réalisme et expressionnisme. Par l’utilisation de contours noirs et de subtils camaïeux dans les compositions déséquilibrées, il met en scène des objets hétéroclites tels que son passeport, des bouteilles de vodka, de champagne, des mégots, des harengs, etc.

« Dans ma peinture, j’éprouve le plaisir du processus lui-même, en mélangeant et en déposant les couleurs, en jouissant de leur éclat et de leur obscurité, de leurs touches subtiles et larges, de leur odeur. Ensuite, je veux exprimer la tristesse, le bonheur, la haine, la colère, l’amour, les pensées de la vie. Je veux capturer la vie et la communiquer par mes propres sentiments. Pour atteindre cela, pour les symboles, j’utilise des objets normaux autour de moi. Leur sens dans la peinture est différent de celui de la vie réelle ». Oscar Rabine

Visa ordinaire, 1997
Technique mixte sur papier
37,5 x 54,9 cm

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017