Retour Actualités Back to news

Paintings and collages by Jacques DOUCET

|||||||||||

As part of the 70th anniversary year of the Dina Vierny Gallery, Olivier Lorquin devotes an exhibition to the painter Jacques Doucet (1924-1994) focusing on three important moments in his artistic career through works from the 55s, the 1960-1968 period and collages from 1993.

Born in 1924 in Boulogne-sur-Seine, Jacques Doucet, a freedom-loving teenager, was passionate about painting and poetry. Hesitating to choose one of these two paths, he met Max Jacob in 1941 to ask his advice. With subtlety, the poet made him understand that he alone must make this choice. Jacques Doucet chose painting, where his poetry is omnipresent. From 1949 to 1951, he participated in the CoBRA movement, a movement inspired by children’s drawings, graffiti and popular art. Jacques Doucet got rid of his inventive, narrative and ironic figuration. He becomes more abstract, removing the titles of his previous works. His brushstrokes become wide and thick, the colors are contrasted and contained by a black ring, making “funny and indiscriminate forms” appear. His painting is rich in materials and vibrant colors.

The 60s marked a pictorial turning point in the painter’s work. His paintings become more expressionist, more lyrical, while the tones are muffled by the use of ochre, blue, gray. This was the beginning of his collaboration with Dina Vierny which lasted until 1976. She encourages him in the way of collages. Jacques Doucet mixed fragments of illustrated papers, children’s drawings and his own failed drawings. This period was followed by “Tableaux-collages” on larger supports.

In the 90’s, he once again produced “tableaux-collages”, different, where the poetry of the titles is found. Suffering from polyneuritis, Jacques Doucet uses oil sticks on smaller formats to paint. He always expresses himself with passion as in this series realized in 1993 after his trip to Morocco. The colors, red, blue, yellow, explode while black graphics punctuate the canvas, reminding us that Jacques Doucet has been engaged in a lifelong intimate struggle with painting.

Extract from Michel Ragon’s text

in Jacques Doucet Parcours 1942-1959

Catalog raisonné, Volume 1, Editions Galilée 1996, pp 10-11

“When Doucet passed from imaginary figuration to non-figuration, does he remember Paul Klee’s recommendation: abstract painter, yes, but with memories.

So many scratches in Doucet’s painting are the scars of traces of objects, traces of people, and so many shreds of memories. Traces of a struggle also against (and with) color, against (and with) matter, against (and with) the indelible traces of everyday life.

I spoke of lyrical abstraction and it is indeed, after the adventure of Cobra, among the painters of lyrical abstraction that he will exhibit from now on. However, it would be more accurate to say: abstract expressionist. There is indeed, and increasingly so, in Doucet’s art, at the end of the fifties, a tension, a tense expressiveness, which brings him closer to certain American painters than, of course, to the so-called “French traditional” painters and even to most of the lyrical abstractionists, who were a little too abstract for him, and a little too lyrical.

If there is lyricism in Doucet, it is always a restrained lyricism. Dina Vierny, who took over from Colette Allendy and Jean Pollak in the 1960s, said of Doucet that he combined “a sense of measure and excess”. Excellent definition. It is in excess that he is an expressionist, and in measure that he restrains his overflow into abstract reflection.

For whoever knew Doucet intimately knows that this gueulard, this Rabelaisian was in reality delicacy and kindness itself.”

Opening: Thursday, June 1, 2017 from 6 to 9 pm

Exhibition from June 2 to July 28, 2017

Dedication: ” Summer choreography: a life of adventure with the painter Jacques Doucet ” by Andrée Doucet Wednesday, June 14 from 6 p.m.

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

fbpx
Retour Actualités Back to news

Peintures et collages de Jacques DOUCET

|||||||||||

Dans le cadre de l’année anniversaire des 70 ans de la galerie Dina Vierny, Olivier Lorquin consacre une exposition au peintre Jacques Doucet (1924-1994) axée sur trois moments importants de son parcours artistique à travers des œuvres des années 55, de la période 1960-1968 et des collages de 1993.

Né en 1924 à Boulogne-sur-Seine, Jacques Doucet, adolescent épris de liberté, se passionne pour la peinture et la poésie. Hésitant à opter pour l’une de ses deux voies, il rencontre en 1941 Max Jacob pour lui demander conseil. Avec subtilité, le poète lui fait comprendre que lui seul doit faire ce choix. Jacques Doucet choisit la peinture où sa poésie est omniprésente. De 1949 à 1951, il participe au mouvement CoBRA, mouvement s’inspirant du dessin d’enfants, du graffiti, de l’art populaire. Jacques Doucet se débarrasse de sa figuration inventive, narrative et ironique. Il devient plus abstrait, supprimant les titres des œuvres précédentes. Sa touche devient large et épaisse, les couleurs sont contrastées et contenues par un cerne noir, faisant apparaitre des « formes cocasses et indicielles ». Sa peinture est riche de matières et de couleurs vibrantes.

Les années 60 vont marquer un tournant pictural dans l’œuvre du peintre. Ses toiles deviennent plus expressionnistes, plus lyriques, tandis que les tons sont feutrés par l’utilisation de couleurs ocre, bleu, gris. C’est le début de sa collaboration avec Dina Vierny qui durera jusqu’en 1976. Elle l’encourage dans la voie des collages. Jacques Doucet y mêle des fragments de papiers d’illustrés, de dessins d’enfants, de ses dessins ratés. Cette période sera suivie par des « Tableaux-collages » sur des supports de plus grandes dimensions.

Dans les années 90, il réalise à nouveau des « tableaux-collages », différents, où la poésie des titres se retrouve. Atteint de polynévrite, pour peindre, Jacques Doucet utilise des bâtonnets d’huile sur des formats plus restreints. Il s’y exprime toujours avec passion comme dans cette série réalisée en 1993 après son voyage au Maroc. Les couleurs, rouge, bleu, jaune, y éclatent tandis que des graphismes noirs rythment la toile, nous rappelant que Jacques Doucet s’est livré toute sa vie à un combat intime avec la peinture.

Extrait du texte de Michel Ragon

in Jacques Doucet Parcours 1942-1959

Catalogue raisonné, Tome 1, Editions Galilée 1996, pp 10-11

« Lorsque Doucet passa de la figuration imaginaire à la non-figuration, se souvient-il de la recommandation de Paul Klee : peintre abstrait, oui, mais avec des souvenirs.

Tant de griffures dans la peinture de Doucet sont les cicatrices de traces d’objets, de traces de gens, et autant de lambeaux de souvenirs. Traces d’un combat aussi contre (et avec) la couleur, contre (et avec) la matière, contre (et avec) les traces indélébiles du quotidien.

J’ai parlé d’abstraction lyrique et c’est bien, après l’aventure de Cobra, parmi les peintres de l’abstraction lyrique qu’il exposera désormais. Il serait néanmoins plus juste de dire : expressionniste abstrait. Il y a en effet, et de plus en plus, dans l’art de Doucet, à la fin des années cinquante, une tension, une expressivité crispée, qui l’apparente davantage à certains peintres américains que, bien sûr, aux peintres dits « de tradition française » et même à la plupart des abstraits lyriques un peu trop abstraits pour lui, et un peu trop lyriques.

Si lyrisme il y a, chez Doucet, c’est toujours un lyrisme retenu. Dina Vierny qui prendra le relais de Colette Allendy et de Jean Pollak dans les années soixante, a dit de Doucet qu’il alliait « le sens de la mesure et de la démesure ». Excellente définition. C’est dans la démesure qu’il est expressionniste et dans la mesure qu’il retient ses débordements dans la réflexion abstraite.

Car qui a connu intimement Doucet sait que ce gueulard, ce rabelaisien était en réalité la délicatesse et la gentillesse mêmes. »

Vernissage : Jeudi 1er juin 2017 de 18h à 21 h

Exposition du 2 juin au 28 juillet 2017

Dédicace : « Chorégraphie estivale : une vie d’aventure avec le peintre Jacques Doucet » d’Andrée Doucet mercredi 14 juin à partir de 18h

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017