Retour Actualités Back to news

Tribute to Ra’anan Levy

|||||||||||

The French-Israeli artist Ra’anan Levy died on Wednesday, June 1, 2022 at the age of 68. Known for his very large paintings, he was also an excellent draftsman and engraver.

Born in Israel in 1954, Ra’anan Levy studied at the Accademia di Belle Arti in Rome between 1975 and 1979 and then joined the Accademia in Florence. At the same time, he enrolled at the Santa Reparata Graphic Art Center in Florence, where he deepened his mastery of engraving techniques. From 1980 to 1982, he studied history and the history of Muslim countries at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem before being appointed artist in residence at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Amsterdam until 1984. In 1987, he received a grant from the Fondation de France and lived in Paris for two years. From then on, the artist divided his life and work between Florence and Paris.

Represented in the mid-1980s by the Marlborough Gallery, he had his first success with a major exhibition of works on paper in 1996 at the Tel Aviv Museum. Discovered by the French public during his first retrospective at the Musée Maillol at the end of 2006, his work met with great enthusiasm. It will be presented a second time at the Maillol Museum in 2012 and then at the Maeght Foundation in 2019 and many times at the Dina Vierny Gallery.

Very early on, Ra’anan Levy displayed an obsession with capturing the traces left by man on everyday objects, nudes, self-portraits, hands, landscapes, still lifes, washbasins, empty spaces, manholes, mirrors, serving only as a pretext to question the transience of time or the mark of the human. These themes, which he treats with pastels, pencils, paintings and engravings, function as communicating vessels and concentric circles, thanks to which the degree of symbolic possession of a reality that often turns out to be elusive increases.

With his painting in pure colors and bright pigments, somewhere between Balthus, Hammershøi, Freud and Hopper, Ra’anan Levy presents a certain continuity with the great tradition of figurative painters, far from the formalist and conceptual debates of modernism. His deserted interiors reveal his solitude and his view of the world around him. Alone with himself, he tries to make each of his paintings a living space. For space of creation and space of life are very intimately linked in his work, which he constantly feeds with his very subjective vision of the world around him. He observes places and people with extreme acuity. The result is a very personal and expressive work, where each engraving, each paper, each canvas is the result of an obsessive adventure marked by such a degree of commitment and passion that Ra’anan Levy ends up embodying himself in his painting.

The artist continued to produce tirelessly until the end of his life, which came without warning at the dawn of summer 2022. The loss of Ra’anan Levy is significant for the Dina Vierny Gallery, which will never forget this artist whose heart was as appreciated as his creative hand. We will soon pay tribute to him at the gallery.

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Retour Actualités Back to news

Hommage à Ra’anan Levy

|||||||||||

L’artiste franco-israélien Ra’anan Levy est décédé le mercredi 1er juin 2022 à l’âge de 68 ans. Reconnu pour ses toiles de très grand format, il était aussi un excellent dessinateur et graveur.

Né en Israël en 1954, Ra’anan Levy suit les enseignements de l’Accademia di Belle Arti de Rome entre 1975 et 1979 puis intègre celle de Florence. En parallèle, il s’inscrit au Santa Reparata Graphic Art Center de Florence où il approfondit sa maîtrise des techniques de la gravure. De 1980 à 1982, il étudie l’histoire et l’histoire des pays musulmans à l’université hébraïque de Jérusalem avant d’être nommé artiste en résidence à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts d’Amsterdam jusqu’en 1984. Il obtient en 1987 une bourse de la Fondation de France et réside à Paris pendant deux ans. Dès lors, l’artiste partage sa vie et son travail entre Florence et Paris.

Représenté au milieu des années 1980 par la Marlborough Gallery, il connaît ses premiers succès avec une grande exposition d’œuvres sur papier en 1996 au Tel-Aviv Museum. Découvert par le public français lors de sa première rétrospective au Musée Maillol à la fin de l’année 2006, son œuvre rencontre un grand enthousiasme. Il sera présenté une seconde fois au musée Maillol en 2012 puis à la Fondation Maeght en 2019 et de nombreuses fois à la Galerie Dina Vierny.

Très tôt, Ra’anan Levy affiche l’obsession de capter les traces laissées par l’homme sur les objets du quotidien, nus, autoportraits, mains, paysages, natures mortes, lavabos, espaces vides, bouches d’égout, miroirs, ne servant de prétexte qu’à s’interroger sur la fugacité du temps ou la marque de l’humain. Ces thèmes, qu’il traite aussi bien aux pastel, crayon, peinture qu’en gravure, fonctionnent comme des vases communicants et des cercles concentriques, grâce auxquels augmente le degré de possession symbolique d’une réalité qui s’avère souvent fuyante.

Avec sa peinture aux couleurs pures et aux pigments vifs, quelque part entre Balthus, Hammershøi, Freud et Hopper, Ra’anan Levy présente une certaine continuité avec la grande tradition des peintres figuratifs, loin des débats formalistes et conceptuels du modernisme. Ses intérieurs déserts révèlent sa solitude et son regard sur le monde qui l’entoure. Seul avec lui-même, il tente de faire de chacun de ses tableaux un espace habitable. Car espace de création et espace de vie sont très intimement liés dans son œuvre, qu’il nourrit constamment de sa vision très subjective du monde qui l’entoure. Il observe les lieux et les êtres avec une acuité extrême. En ressort un œuvre très personnel et expressif, où chaque gravure, chaque papier, chaque toile est le résultat d’une aventure obsessionnelle marquée par un tel degré d’engagement et de passion que Ra’anan Levy finit par s’incarner lui-même dans sa peinture.

L’artiste a continué de produire inlassablement jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, arrivée sans prévenir à l’aube de l’été 2022. La perte de Ra’anan Levy est significative pour la Galerie Dina Vierny, qui n’oubliera jamais cet artiste dont le cœur fut autant apprécié que la main créatrice. Nous lui rendrons prochainement un hommage à la galerie.

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017