fbpx
Retour Actualités Back to news

Thursday 18 November from 18:00 to 20:30 – Signing of the book “Judit Reigl: Interview with Janos Gat”

|||||||||||

The Dina Vierny Gallery is pleased to invite you to a book signing of “Judit Reigl: Interview with Janos Gat” by the author, gallery owner and friend of the artist, Janos Gat. Partner of the event, the AWARE association aims to give visibility to women artists. In 2017, it awarded the honorary prize to Judit Reigl and is co-publishing this collection of interviews alongside Manuella Editions.

“In this beautiful and unpublished interview, [Judit Reigl] tells Janos Gat – her gallery owner, friend and expert on her work – about her life and how she was involved in her artistic work from the very first moments, from her birth until the months before her death.”
(excerpt from the preface of “Judit Reigl, interview with Janos Gat”, by Camille Morineau, director of AWARE)

The book prepared for the awarding of this prize contains the artist’s account of her career, her work and the relationship that irrevocably links these two aspects of her life throughout her lifetime.

AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
A non-profit association co-founded in 2014 and directed by Camille Morineau, curator of heritage and art historian specialising in women artists. “AWARE’s great scientific ambition is to rewrite art history in a parity-oriented way. It is high time to put women artists back on the same level as their male counterparts and to make their works known.”
Since its creation in 2014, AWARE has been working to make 19th and 20th century women artists visible by producing and posting free, fully bilingual French/English content about their work on its website.

The AWARE Prize
Since their creation in 2017, the AWARE Awards for Women Artists have been concerned both with making visible the work of an artist who began her career within the last 10 years and thus highlighting work that is still little known to institutions or the art market thanks to the award; but also with paying tribute to an artist whose career deserved a new look, increased recognition through the Honorary Award.
Judit Reigl was the first recipient of the AWARE Honorary Prize.

Janos Gat
Born in 1952 in Budapest, Janos Gat is a writer and art dealer. In 1993, he opened a gallery in New York where he contributed to the discovery of major European artists such as Judit Reigl, Wolf Vostell, Istvan Fàrkas and Ra’anan Levy. He gradually developed a strong friendship with Judit Reigl and became his main dealer, organising more than ten exhibitions for him and thus gaining recognition for his work in Europe and across the Atlantic.


Thursday 18 November – 6 pm – 8.30 pm
Dina Vierny Gallery
36 Rue Jacob, 75006 Paris

Partnership with the AWARE association.

(The book is available at the Dina Vierny Gallery, in French or English, for 15 EUR).

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

fbpx
Retour Actualités Back to news

Jeudi 18 novembre de 18h à 20h30 – Signature du livre « Judit Reigl : Entretien avec Janos Gat »

|||||||||||

La galerie Dina Vierny est heureuse de vous convier à une séance de signature du livre « Judit Reigl : Entretien avec Janos Gat » par l’auteur, galeriste et ami de l’artiste, Janos Gat. Partenaire de l’évènement, l’association AWARE vise à donner de la visibilité aux artistes femmes. Elle a remis en 2017 le prix d’honneur à Judit Reigl et coédite ce recueil d’entretiens aux côtés de Manuella Editions.

« Dans cet entretien magnifique et inédit, [Judit Reigl] raconte à Janos Gat – son galeriste, ami et spécialiste de son œuvre – sa vie et comment elle a été mêlée dès les premiers instants à son travail artistique, de sa naissance jusqu’aux mois précédant sa mort. »
(extrait de la préface de « Judit Reigl, entretien avec Janos Gat », par Camille Morineau, directrice d’AWARE)

Le livre élaboré à l’occasion de la remise de ce prix contient le récit de l’artiste à propos de son parcours, de son oeuvre et de la relation qui lie irrémédiablement ces deux aspects de sa vie tout au long de son existence.

AWARE : Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Association loi 1901 à but non lucratif co-fondée en 2014 et dirigée par Camille Morineau, conservatrice du Patrimoine, historienne de l’art spécialiste des artistes femmes. « La grande ambition scientifique d’AWARE est de réécrire l’histoire de l’art de manière paritaire. Il est grand temps de replacer les artistes femmes au même plan que leurs homologues masculins et de faire connaître leurs œuvres. »
Depuis sa création en 2014, l’association AWARE travaille à rendre visibles les artistes femmes des XIXe et XXe siècles en produisant et en mettant en ligne sur son site Internet des contenus gratuits et entièrement bilingues français/anglais sur leurs œuvres.

Le Prix AWARE
Depuis leur création en 2017, les Prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes ont eu à cœur à la fois de rendre visible le travail d’une artiste ayant débuté sa carrière depuis 10 ans au plus et ainsi de mettre en lumière un travail encore peu connu des institutions ou du marché de l’art grâce au prix ; mais aussi de rendre hommage à une artiste dont le parcours méritait un nouveau regard, une reconnaissance accrue à travers le prix d’honneur.
Judit Reigl a été la première lauréate du prix d’honneur AWARE.

Janos Gat
Né en 1952 à Budapest, Janos Gat est un écrivain et marchand d’art. En 1993, il ouvre une galerie à New York où il contribue à la découverte d’artistes européens majeurs tel que Judit Reigl, Wolf Vostell, Istvan Fàrkas ou Ra’anan Levy. Il se lie progressivement d’une très forte amitié avec Judit Reigl et devient son principal marchand, lui organisant plus d’une dizaine d’expositions et faisant ainsi reconnaitre son travail en Europe et outre-Atlantique.


Jeudi 18 novembre – 18h – 20h30
Galerie Dina Vierny
36 Rue Jacob, 75006 Paris

Partenariat avec l’association AWARE.

(L’ouvrage est disponible à la galerie Dina Vierny, en français ou anglais, au prix de 15 EUR).

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017