fbpx
Retour liste Back to list

Séraphine Louis

|||||||||||

(Arsy, 1864 -Villers-sous-Erquery, 1942)

Séraphine Louis, also known as de Senlis, was born into a humble family. At the age of seven, she became an orphan and between 1882 and 1902 worked as a housekeeper in the convent of the Charité de la Providence (Providence Charity) of Clermont-sur-Oise. This had an extremely religious impact on her, and she claimed that it was the Virgin Mary herself who inspired her own artistic vocation. She then worked as a maid for a wealthy family in Senlis and, in 1906, created her first pieces on wood at night in extreme isolation. In 1912, she started working for the art collector and critic Wilhelm Uhde. He discovered her surprising talent by accident. From then on he allowed her to fully commit to her work and persuaded her to work on larger formats. However, in 1914 he was obliged to leave France, and it was only in 1927 that he regained contact with her. He bought all of her paintings and in 1929 exhibited her in his famous exhibition Les peintres du cœur sacré the sacred heart painters. He was nevertheless forced to end his commitment in 1930 due to the disappearance of buyers following the Great Depression. Séraphine, who was financially out of her depth, was severely affected and psychologically exhausted. In 1932, she was admitted to a psychiatric hospital, which marked the end of her artistic career. She died in 1942, and is buried in the mass grave of the Clermont cemetery.

The German collector wrote: “I now realize that if I encouraged Séraphine de Senlis, it was not because of the primitive or the surrealist aspect of her paintings but rather because she is one of the great immortals who exceed the limits of a movement or a school”.

Séraphine expresses her own intimate universe, which she believes to be divinely guided. The result is an astonishing collection of surrealist bouquets, painted with the same ardour and fervour that medieval artists felt when demonstrating their faith in God. In Wilhelm Uhde’s words, her paintings feel like an “ecstatic confession”. She stands at the border between artistic passion and the art of pathology. Her large flower bouquets spatter the canvas with tears of blood while eyes usurp fruits on the branches of imaginary trees.

Séraphine has her place among the Primitifs Modernes – Modern Primitives – collected by Wilhelm Uhde (Bauchant, Bombois, Douanier Rousseau, Vivin), who now occupy a dedicated room at the Musée national d’art moderne National museum of Modern art – Centre Pompidou. They represent a decisive moment in the art history in the twentieth century by questioning the very principles of educated art in favour of other, exotic or primitive cultures, and by offering an unfettered painting style, both intuitive and sincere.

 

Le bouquet de feuilles, 1929-1930
Huile sur toile
81 x 61 cm
Œuvre non disponible

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

Retour liste Back to list

Séraphine Louis

|||||||||||

(Arsy, 1864 – Clermont, 1942)

Séraphine Louis, dite de Senlis, est issue d’une famille modeste. Elle se retrouve orpheline à l’âge de sept ans et travaille comme domestique de 1882 à 1902 au couvent de la Charité de la Providence de Clermont-sur-Oise. Elle en conserve une très forte emprunte religieuse, assurant que la  Vierge lui aurait inspiré sa vocation d’artiste. Elle est ensuite employée comme femme de ménage chez les bourgeois de Senlis et fait ses premières œuvres sur bois en 1906, le soir chez elle, dans le plus grand isolement. Elle entre au service du collectionneur et critique d’art Wilhelm Uhde en 1912 qui découvre avec stupéfaction son talent. Il lui permet alors de se consacrer pleinement à la peinture et l’engage à réaliser des grands formats. Mais il doit quitter la France en 1914, et ne reprend contact avec elle qu’en 1927. Il lui achète alors tous ses tableaux, décide de l’aider et l’expose dans sa fameuse exposition Les peintres du cœur sacré en 1929. Il doit cependant cesser son soutient en 1930 à cause de la disparition des acheteurs suite à la Grande Dépression. Séraphine, lancée dans des dépenses excessives, en est très perturbée, et s’effondre psychiquement. Elle est internée en 1932, ce qui marque la fin de sa production. Elle décède en 1942 et est enterrée dans la fosse commune du cimetière de Clermont.

« Je me rends compte, écrit le collectionneur allemand, que si, par la suite, j’ai encouragé Séraphine de Senlis, ce n’est pas pour le caractère primitif ou surréaliste de ses tableaux mais parce qu’elle appartient aux grands immortels qui dépassent le cadre d’un mouvement ou d’une école ».

Séraphine exprime son univers intérieur qu’elle imagine divinement guidé. En ressort une œuvre étonnante de bouquets surréalistes peints avec la même ardeur et la même ferveur que celle ressentie par les artistes du Moyen-Âge lorsqu’ils témoignaient de leur foi en Dieu, comme une « confession extatique » selon les termes de Wilhelm Uhde. Elle se tient à la lisière entre la passion de l’art et l’art de la pathologie. Ses grands bouquets de fleurs laissent perler des larmes de sang tandis que des yeux se glissent à la place des fruits sur les branches d’arbres imaginaires.

Séraphine fait partie des « Primitifs Modernes » réunis par Wilhelm Uhde (Bauchant, Bombois, Douanier Rousseau, Vivin), qui occupent aujourd’hui une salle dédiée au Musée national d’art moderne – Centre Pompidou. Ils marquent un moment fort dans l’histoire de l’art du XXème siècle car ils remettent en cause les dogmes de l’art savant au profit d’autres cultures, exotiques ou primitives, et offrent une peinture libre, intuitive et sincère.

Le bouquet de feuilles, 1929-1930
Huile sur toile
81 x 61 cm
Œuvre non disponible

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017