fbpx
Retour Expositions Back to list

Judit Reigl: First Abstraction

|||||||||||

One year after the death of Judit Reigl, the Dina Vierny gallery is pleased to present an exhibition dedicated to the artist’s first abstract works. Bringing together key canvases from his best-known series, as well as paintings presented in 1954 at Etoile scellée, André Breton’s gallery, the exhibition explores a panorama that is both historical and didactic in which Reigl’s gesture is affirmed, witness of her first great years.

« The selection of works in ‘Judit Reigl First Abstraction’ takes the viewer on a journey: a journey of signs and visual experiences that signify the explosion of life itself, while paradoxically a journey back into artistic debates in postwar Paris from 1954 to 1966. Looking back in time we reflect upon Reigl’s production in series following her surrealist moment: the Outburst, Mass Writing, Centre of Dominance, Presence and Guano paintings. The primary relationship between these forms is Reigl’s own body: both instrument and obstacle. Crucial to this exhibition and to a fresh reading of Reigl — so challenging in view of an abundance of critical writing — is not the issue of series but that of paradigm change, first conceptualised in 1962. The paradigm change here, through the prism of one individual, demonstrates how when one series ends, another bursts forth with new energy. »

(Excerpt from the text « Judit Reigl, Stories from the Universe » written by Sarah Wilson, art historian and curator, professor at the Courtauld Institute of Art in London, for the exhibition catalog – available at the gallery).

Judit Reigl is a painter who was surrealist, abstract and figurative in turn. When she arrived in Paris in 1950 she met up with a fellow student from the Beaux-Arts in Budapest, Simon Hantaï, who introduced her to André Breton. Breton was attracted to her surrealist paintings and invited her to exhibit at L’Étoile scellée. Later, she moved away from surrealism and painted a number of sequences that were striking for the intensity of their gestures: ‘Outbursts’ (1955-1958), ‘Centres of Dominance’ (1958-1959), and ‘Mass Writings’ (1959-1965). During this period she strewed her failed attempts all over the floor of her studio, trampled and spilt paint on them, then picked them up again and reworked them: these are the ‘Guano’ (1958-1965).

But what Judit Reigl sought, rather than the formal elegance of the gesture, was its authenticity. This work culminated in the abstract series of the ‘Unfoldings’ (1973-1985), where the artist explored an automatic writing made of a coloured tracery emerging transparently through the back of the canvas. Judit Reigl digs down into the deepest experience of her existence to develop a vast, complex reflection on what it is to be human. Her work is a search for the essential and the absolute, and a witness to the unknown.

Judit Reigl received the Aware Honorary Award in 2017 .

Her work is presented in the following museums: MoMA, New York; Guggenheim Museum, New York; The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; Center Pompidou, Paris; Museum of Modern Art of the city of Paris; Dina Vierny Foundation – Maillol Museum, Paris; MAC VAL, Vitry-sur-Seine; Museum of Fine Arts, Caen; Museum of Fine Arts, Grenoble; Fabre Museum, Montpellier; Museum of Fine Arts, Nantes; Arsenal, contemporary art museum, Soissons; Albright-Knox Gallery, Buffalo; The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston; Tate Modern, London; The Albertina Museum, Vienna; Hungarian National Gallery, Budapest.

Du 8 septembre au 20 novembre 2021

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017

fbpx
Retour Expositions Back to list

Judit Reigl, première abstraction

|||||||||||

Un an après la mort de Judit Reigl, la galerie Dina Vierny est heureuse de présenter une exposition consacrée aux premières œuvres abstraites de l’artiste. Réunissant des toiles clefs de ses séries les plus connues, ainsi que des peintures présentées en 1954 à l’Etoile scellée, galerie d’André Breton, l’exposition explore un panorama à la fois historique et didactique où s’affirme le geste de Reigl, témoin de ses premières grandes années.

« Les œuvres réunies dans l’exposition Judit Reigl, première abstraction conduisent le spectateur dans une traversée des signes et des sensations visuelles renvoyant à l’explosion de la vie même, qui est en même temps une traversée des débats artistiques dans le Paris des années 1954 à 1966. Ce retour sur le passé nous invite à méditer sur les séries peintes par Judit Reigl juste après son épisode surréaliste : Éclatement, Centre de dominance, Présence, Guano et Écriture en masse. Le lien primordial entre toutes ces œuvres est le corps de l’artiste, à la fois instrument et obstacle. L’exposition pose un regard neuf sur Judit Reigl (une gageure quand on connaît l’abondance de publications), en s’articulant, non pas autour des séries, mais autour du changement de paradigme, conceptualisé en 1962. Le changement de paradigme, perçu ici par le prisme individuel, nous enseigne que, lorsqu’une série s’achève, une autre surgit avec une force renouvelée.»

(Extrait du texte « Judit Reigl, histoires de l’univers » écrit par Sarah Wilson, historienne de l’art et curatrice, professeure au Courtauld Institute de Londres, pour le catalogue d’exposition – disponible à la galerie).

Judit Reigl est une peintre qui fut tour à tour surréaliste, abstraite ou figurative. À son arrivée en France en 1950, elle retrouve son ancien compagnon des Beaux-Arts de Budapest, Simon Hantaï, qui l’introduit auprès d’André Breton. Séduit par ses toiles surréalistes, il l’invite à exposer à L’Étoile scellée. Elle s’éloigne ensuite du surréalisme et réalise plusieurs séries marquées par une intense gestualité : ce sont les Éclatements (1955-1958), les Centres de dominance (1958-1959) et les Écritures en masse (1959-1965). Parallèlement, les toiles ratées sont conservées au sol de l’atelier et foulées, recouvertes des déjections picturales puis reprises, retravaillées : ce sont les Guano (1958-1965).

Plus que l’élégance formelle du geste, c’est son authenticité que Judit Reigl recherche. Ce travail culmine avec la série abstraite des Déroulements (1973-1985) où l’artiste approfondit une écriture automatique faite de tracés colorés émergeant par transparence au revers de la toile. Judit Reigl puise toujours dans les expériences les plus profondes de son existence pour développer une réflexion très vaste et complexe sur l’humain. À la recherche d’essence et d’absolu, son œuvre témoigne de l’inconnu.

Judit Reigl a reçu le prix d’honneur Aware en 2017.

Ses œuvres sont présentées dans les musées suivants : MoMA, New York ; Guggenheim Museum, New York ; The Metropolitain Museum of Art, New York ; Centre Pompidou, Paris ; Musée d’Art moderne de la ville de Paris ; Fondation Dina Vierny – Musée Maillol, Paris ; MAC VAL, Vitry-sur- Seine ; Musée des Beaux- Arts, Caen ; Musée des Beaux-Arts, Grenoble ; Musée Fabre, Montpellier ; Musée des Beaux-Arts, Nantes ; Arsenal, musée d’art contemporain, Soissons ; Albright-Knox Gallery, Buffalo ; The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston ; Tate Modern, Londres ; The Albertina Museum, Vienne ; Galerie Nationale Hongroise, Budapest.

Écriture en masse, 1959 – Huile sur toile, 106 x 85 cm

Du 8 septembre au 27 novembre 2021

fermer

Copyright Galerie Dina Vierny 2017